Plankton Portal Talk

Larvaecean?? - and magnifying help on iPad?

• cspivak by cspivak

Very unsure about this one. Also, I am working on iPad. A magnifying feature came up a few times on long press but now I can't seem to get it. Every time I long press it just gives another marker with categorization choices. Hints?

In fact generally about the interface: seems way too easy to drop another marker when all I was trying to do was zoom, or get back to the top menu, or my browser tabs. I'm always having to get rid of them. Might be nicer to have an identify mode.....I don't know. Does this happen to other people or is it just me?
    Thanks!

Posted

• yshish by yshish moderator, translator in response to carolyn.spivak@gmail.com's comment.

The PP has never worked well on iPads. I have no experience with that so I can't help you much 😦 I can ask the developers whether it should be working without troubles and maybe they will give you an advice.. Let's hope! Fingers crossed:]

As for the Larvacean question, I wouldn't say there is one. The little guy is rather an Arrowworm. Hard to tell for sure since it is very blurry and small!

Z.

Posted

• jo.irisson by jo.irisson translator, scientist

At that size it is more probably a detritus; too small for an arrowworm.

Regarding tablets, and iPad in particular, any feedback is welcome. We (on the science team) have plans to install booths in a few museums with PlanktonPortal and we would like to do it on iPads. If you can collect problems, desired behaviours, etc. and add each of those as a separate "issue" at that address: https://github.com/zooniverse/plankton/issues that would be the best way to keep track of them and hopefully sort them out in the future.

Thanks in advance.

Posted

• cspivak by cspivak